Charter Review Commission

02262021 JB Town Hall image

Town Halls on March 12 & March 13

Are there changes to the County's Charter that you would like to have considered at the November election? The San Juan County Charter Review Commission will be conducting two Town Hall meetings on Friday, March 12 and Saturday, March 13. Come one, come all, learn about the work of the Commission and 'have your say' early on in this important process! Members of the County Charter Review Commission will share some of the work they are doing and want to hear from you, too.

In preparation for joining the Town Hall, you can view a list of issues being considered by the eight subcommittees. We've included a listing of committee members, as well as the committee leader and contact e-mail.

This truly is democracy in action at the local level! Be a part of it!

Background

Adopted by voters in 2005 and put in place in 2006, The San Juan County Home Rule Charter calls for a review by an elected Charter Review Commission after 5 full years of operation under the new form of government, and at least every 10 years thereafter. This is the current version of the San Juan County Charter.

The Charter Review Commission began work on January 21, 2021, electing Kevin Ranker as its Chair and Olivia Roseberry as its Vice Chair. The Commission shall conduct special and regular, public meetings with notices posted on the County’s online calendar. Meetings are currently held via Zoom on Wednesdays, 4:00pm-6:30pm*.

Resources

Agendas and Minutes or find meetings in Calendar View

   *Join Zoom Meeting - https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85271643269 or dial +1 253 215 8782, Meeting ID: 852 7164 3269

SJC County Council Member Position and Salary Recommendations (May 10, 2012)

CRC Review Findings (June 2, 2012)

County Organization Chart (2019)

Ordinance 19-2019 Adopting a Biennial Budget for the Years 2020-2021 and Setting Forth the Estimated Revenues and Appropriations

2020-2021 Preliminary Budget Book

Countywide Precinct Map

Resolution 31-2020 Affirming Commitment to Safe and Inclusive Community

Meeting Documents

Created  by Commission members (may include drafts and working documents)

Presentations

As given to the Charter Review Commission by outside parties

CHARTER REVIEW COMMITTEES

Committee name
(We will try to post agendas posted 1-2 days prior; minutes as soon as practical after meeting)
Meeting Day/Time Zoom meeting link
CHARTER REVIEW PROCESS - Preamble, nuts & bolts
Link to current agenda 
Tuesday 10am-12pm https://us02web.zoom.us/j/84297134309
ELECTED vs APPOINTED
Link to current agenda 
Sunday 1pm-2m https://us02web.zoom.us/j/89261021294
ELECTIONS - residency vs. countywide, election observing
Link to current agenda 
Thursday 4pm-5pm https://us02web.zoom.us/j/86744712298
INITIATIVE & REFERENDUM PROCESS Monday 7pm-8pm https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81811821657
GOVERNANCE - County Council, boards & commissions, budget, transparency, individual islands Thursday 7pm-8pm https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88251171778
OPERATIONS - personnel, county procedures, public records Saturday 9am-10am https://us02web.zoom.us/j/82593615573
CLIMATE & ENVIRONMENT Wednesday 10am-12pm https://us02web.zoom.us/j/84613890039
JUSTICE & EQUITY Monday 4pm-5pm https://us02web.zoom.us/j/87063584191

The 18 members of the Charter Review Commission were elected in the November 3, 2020 election.

MemberEmail
Bob O’Connellrobo@sanjuanco.com
Liz Laffertylizl@sanjuanco.com
Jane Fullerjanef@sanjuanco.com
Kevin Ranker, Chairkevinr@sanjuanco.com
Tony Ghazeltonyg@sanjuanco.com
Janet Brownelljanetb@sanjuanco.com
Anne Marie Shanksannemaries@sanjuanco.com
Sharon Abreusharona@sanjuanco.com
Paul Dossettpauld@sanjuanco.com
Bill Appelbilla@sanjuanco.com
Patty Garcia
pattyg@sanjuanco.com
Tom Starrtoms@sanjuanco.com
Maureen Seemaureens@sanjuanco.com
Kyle Davieskyleda@sanjuanco.com
David Andersondavea@sanjuanco.com
Richard Groutrichardg@sanjuanco.com
David Dehlendorfdavidd@sanjuanco.com
Olivia Roseberry, Vice Chairoliviar@sanjuanco.com


Contact:
Phone:
Email:
Liaison: Mike Thomas


  
Maureen See
   
maureens@sanjuanco.com
   


   
P
   
Patty Garcia
   
pattyg@sanjuanco.com
   


   
P
   
Paul Dossett
   
pauld@sanjuanco.com
   


   
D
   
Dave Anderson
   
davea@sanjuanco.com
   


   
D
   
David Dehlendorf
   
davidd@sanjuanco.com
   


   
R
   
Richard Grout
   
richardg@sanjuanco.com
   


   
B
   
Bill Appel
   
billa@sanjuanco.com
   


   
O
   
Olivia Roseberry
   
oliviar@sanjuanco.com
   


   
J
   
Janet Brownell
   
janetb@sanjuanco.com
   


   
K
   
Kevin Ranker
   
kevinr@sanjuanco.com
   


   
A
   
Anne Marie Shanks
   
annemaries@sanjuanco.com
   


   
T
   
Tony P Ghazel
   
tonyg@sanjuanco.com
   


   
S
   
Sharon Abreu
   
sharona@sanjuanco.com
   


   
J
   
Jane Fuller
   
janef@sanjuanco.com
   


   
R
   
Robert A. OConnell
   
robo@sanjuanco.com
   


   
L
   
Liz Lafferty
   
lizl@sanjuanco.com
   


   
T
   
Thomas Starr
   
toms@sanjuanco.com
   


   
K
   
Kyle Davies
   
kyleda@sanjuanco.com